Carter Cooks: Stuffed Peppers

At the last market I got to perusing Jeff’s cookbooks (of Chapo’s Chilies), they had some amazing stuffed pepper recipes. I thought I’d give it a try.  In perusing my own set of cookbooks and the internet, I discovered that there are as many ways to stuff a pepper as there are southern cooks. It seems to me that everyone does it differently and with their own tastes in mind. So I would recommend that you use my recipe as a guide and adjust accordingly.

I personally think onions are medicinal and will put them in anything savory. Additionally as a born and bred southerner, I love the pig. Typically, I’ll try to sneak cheese into any dish. But for some reason I didn’t have any in my larder, so I left it out. By now, you should have noticed that I tend to be a use what’s on hand kind of cook. If you think the flavor profile works, go for it. Cooking is all about improvising. As Julia Child once said “If you’re alone in the kitchen, who is going to see?” Don’t worry about making mistakes; the one’s you cook for will still be thankful that they were on the receiving end of a home cooked meal.

Stuffed Peppers

From the Market

Peppers

Sausage

Herbs (parsley, for example)

Onions

From the Pantry

Rice

Tomato sauce

Oil

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Wash peppers and slit along the spine to remove seeds. Leave the tops attached. The peppers will splay open when cooking if removed.
  3. Cook rice and set aside.
  4. Brown sausage, breaking up the sausage into small pieces.  Drain and reserve a little of the fat to cook the onions in.
  5. Chop onions and sauté in sausage grease. Add cooked rice and sausage to the pan. Add a little tomato sauce to help hold the ingredients together. Season with herbs, salt & pepper to taste.
  6. Stuff rice mixture into slit, deseeded peppers. Rub peppers with oil and place on a baking sheet. Optional: Drizzle tomato sauce over filled peppers.
  7. Bake until peppers are tender approximately 40 minutes.

Note: The rice mixture can be made ahead of time except for the tomato sauce.

 

 

Leave a Reply

