Carter Cooks: Pickled Beets!

Last week at the Farmers Market, I fell in love. As soon as I came in I spied the gorgeous purple jewels. Beets. I love them. I don’t know what my fascination with beets is. But, I do know I can hardly resist them. But, love is scary. I’ve never gotten up the courage to do anything with beets.

This week I leapt feet first into beets. I decided to pickle them. I studied chemistry in undergrad. How hard could it be to pickle something? All you need is a little acetic acid and some spices. Since I had never attempted to pickle beets, I turned to the cookbooks and then the internet. Do you know how many ways there are to pickle beets? I’ll save you the research time. There are a lot. So, I decided to make it up as I went. The beets are currently boiling away turning the water the most amazing shade of red. I’ll let you know next week how they actually taste and if I would change the recipe at all.

Hope to see you at the market!

Pickled Beets

From the Market

Beets

From the Pantry

Vinegar

Cloves

Peppercorn

Salt

Sugar

Orange

  1. Boil the beets until tender, about 30 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile make vinegar mix. Put ¼ c. vinegar, 2 Tbsp sugar, a pinch of salt, the zest of an orange and the juice of an orange in a large mason jar. Add a few whole cloves and a few peppercorns. Put the lid on and shake the vinegar mixture in the can until the sugar is incorporated. Set aside. 
  3. Remove beets from water. Run cool water over beets. Peel off the skins. The skins will just fall off very easily. It may dye your fingers though.
  4. Slice beets in rounds. Place the cut beets in your mason jar with vinegar mix.
  5. Marinate in vinegar mix. Refrigerate or can.

Note: I used two pounds of beets to the aforementioned vinegar mix. Also, I haven’t tried this before. So, we’ll see how it turns out. 

Leave a Reply

